2013 Bernard V. Gregory Scholarships Awarded

“An investment in knowledge pays the best interest.” – Benjamin Franklin

The 100 Black Men of Jacksonville, Inc. (J100) work to support education opportunities for students throughout the First Coast area. We all know there is a need to support those who are striving for excellence. It is our duty to provide the support needed to supplement the academic and leadership efforts of our young people.

The J100 provides our annual Bernard V. Gregory Scholarships to deserving matriculating students who ascending into, and are returning to, full-time accredited, post-secondary institutions based on the organization’s eligibility criteria. Scholarship dollars assist youth in completing educational goals by providing resources to offset expenses associated with tuition, books and housing. The scholarship program allows the J100 to identify potential youth leaders in our area and motivates them to achieve academic and community service excellence.

These deserving students are worthy of our support because they have chosen to follow their dream of academic and leadership excellence. Let’s congratulate our J100 Bernard V. Gregory Scholarship Awardees and their parents. They are:

Dominique Aupont – University of North Florida

Alikiah Barclay – Duke University

Chelsea Carter – University of West Florida

Brianna Falcon – University of Florida

Angenika Lattery – Florida A&M University

Eli’sha McTaw – Florida State University

Shannon Pringle – University of Florida

Bianca Sessions – Florida A&M University

Brittany Woods – Florida State College at Jacksonville

Kenneth Woods – University of Central Florida

A special “Thank You” goes out to our supporters who helped to make these scholarships possible. They are Publix Supermarket Charities, Inc., JM Family Enterprises, Regency Centers, New York Life and Friends of the J100. These partners make the work of the J100 a little bit easier.

Heartfelt acknowledgements go out to scholarship committee members who worked to pull the awards presentation together. Brothers Stephen Kennedy, Ken Pinnix, Dwaine Kohn, Thomas Raines, Melvin Wooden, Kevin Cotton and Tillis DeVaughn worked tirelessly to make sure our students were properly recognized.

Our expectation for the future is that tall of our honorees will find their greatness through a foundation rooted in academic success, leadership and community service. In doing so, they will be ensuring the J100 legacy through…

One mission. One Cause. One network.

Charles Griggs

Leave a Reply